I’m going back in time to become a smooth jazz bass player.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2012/11/14/daily-prompt-14/

I have enjoyed my time in college. I probably could have been more motivated and done a better job -I’m going to be honest for a bit and admit that I am quite the slacker. I slack off at everything. I’m writing this post while I’m in class. Anyway. I don’t regret coming to school. I learned a lot about things, I learned a lot about myself, I learned a lot about people. Good times. 

But being in college uses up a lot of time. I spent a lot of time being in class, doing homework, going to work to pay for things that you need in college, and all of the other random things that kill time when you are a student. If I could go back in time I would stop myself from enrolling in school, and using all the money from my first year in school to by a bass. I dedicate my time to be the funkiest player that I ever could have been because let’s be honest, there isn’t anybody that doesn’t dig a funky bass player. 

Guitar is fun, and you can do great things with it -I know because I play guitar -but I have always had a special place in my heart for rockin’ bass riffs. And when you are at a show, nothing feels better than the tickle from sub. If you mess up, most people don’t notice. You also have the freedom to improvise more because people recognize the guitar riff more easily giving the bass player in any band more flexibility to mix things up. 

I think I would start my bass career playing in some progressive, music-forward bands. I’d play hip things. Eventually, I would get tired of this start playing in a jazz band. That’s where the real fun is. Jazz might not be a popular genre, nor will it make you much money, but because of the technical ability required to play jazz, jazz musicians are usually the best which corresponds to the level that they love music because you have to really love something to give your life to it. Consequently, jazz musicians have more fun than anybody, because they really love what they do. I want to party with jazz musicians for the rest of my life. 

 

 

Leave a Reply

