Be a normal human being.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2012/11/12/daily-prompt-be-the-change/

 

I don’t really have a purpose for this blog. I didn’t create it with a purpose. I made it because I was tired of playing video games all day and I wanted to practice my writing skills. I don’t think my opinions are of particular importance to anyone – I’m not an expert at anything and I have yet to accomplish anything that would give my voice the strength to be considered valuable for society at large. But if I could make my blog worth anything, I would do make it so that it’s value is in reminding people that it’s okay to be a human being. 

Even though our society (American) is individualistic and in the past few decades it has taught us that our happiness should be of paramount importance in our lives, there is still a pressure to be something that we are not. I am speaking from a Christian background, but I have observed that the reality of unrealistic ideals exists in most cultures and sub-cultures.

In my last post, I wrote about how I felt the pressure to be a political conservative when I first became a Christian because of the mantra that Christians must vote based on ‘biblical principles.’ The pressure to live up to the Christian ideal goes far beyond the political realm. Though most moderate-Christian groups advocate openness, forgiveness, understanding and love, finding it is a lot harder. It’s hard to have doubts because it makes our commitment to Christ look weak. I use one example. As a Christian, I am expected to have 100% faith in God and his power to take x circumstances and make them y. Any work that God might do on our behalf is contingent upon this 100% faith. But is it even possible for humans to have 100% faith in anything? In reality, I have never been absolutely sure that my faith would produce something good. There will always be a thought in the back of my head that reminds me of the possibility that everything I believe in might be based in zero truth. Perhaps, some people don’t feel that way, but I do, and I think it is perfectly human to have doubts like that. 

Christianity is not the only way of thinking that has unrealistic expectations. Eastern religious value the separation of the mind from the body, purging all of the unclean desires that come from the flesh. But is there really anything wrong with having a human desire? We are biologically programmed to seek out reproduction -it is these drives that has kept our race alive for something tens of thousands of years while other species die out because they just can’t find it within themselves to get it on (that’s right, I’m talking to you, pandas.) And yet at some point, some guy thought it would be a great idea if he started teaching everyone else that human desires are bad, only complete removal from the physical realm would ever allow us to achieve anything of real meaning. Bologna. 

And of course the pressure to be something un-human exists outside of religious ideologies as well. American society teaches us that it is our duty to try to make as much money as possible, our happiness depends on it. While it is true that for most people, the pursuit of money will make them happy, not everyone will feel this way. The human race is diverse, and its extensive diversity will produce individuals and entire sub-groups of people that don’t value the same things as society at large. My brother is one of those people. He has no desire to make money at all. He is satisfied with the simplest things in life. It’s hard for me to except because I want him to succeed but I also have to accept that he is a human being, and that means that he has the right to have his own values. 

So I want my blog, if it will ever be worth anything, to teach people that it is okay to be a human being. That it is okay to be yourself. It’s okay to have thoughts or feelings that other people don’t have. And its definitely okay to voice opinions and share vulnerabilities with other people because they need to learn that it’s okay to be a human being too. 

Leave a Reply

